Australia women’s cricket team registered an emphatic 85-run win over India to clinch the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, a record fifth time in their history. Australia is the most successful side in the tournament’s history, having earlier won the title in 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2018. Harmanpreet Kaur-led India, who entered the final after their semifinal against England was washed out in Sydney, failed to rise to the occasion in the final. They had progressed to the summit clash by the virtue of topping Group A. In the group stage, India had won all four of their matches.

In the final at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, hosts Australia won the toss and opted to bat. They rode on Beth Mooney’s unbeaten 78 and Alyssa Healy’s knock of 75 runs to post a mammoth 184/4 in 20 overs — the highest total om a T20 World Cup final, men’s and women’s.

For India, Deepti Sharma top-scored with 33 runs as they lost seven of their batters for a single-digit score in a tough chase.

Leave a Reply